Friday, October 28, 2005

Plamegate: Scooter Libby indicted, and resigns

I won't go over the whole Plame affair again. Suffice it to say that a serious law was broken by Bush Administration officials when her identity was revealed. The purpose of it was to cover up the serious lack of credibility to the Iraq war, and by way of doing that coverup they decided to try and destroy Joe Wilson's life and credibility.

Cheney's top aide quits after indictment Lewis Libby indicted on 5 counts (Friday, October 28, 2005; Posted: 2:08 p.m. EDT (18:08 GMT) CNN.COM)

Libby was indicted on one count of obstruction of justice, two counts of perjury and two counts of making false statements, court documents show.

The indictments were not directly related to the actual leak of CIA operative Valerie Plame's name.

Libby discussed Plame's identity in the summer of 2003 with reporters after her husband, diplomat Joseph Wilson, wrote a highly critical op-ed column in The New York Times that challenged intelligence used as a rationale for the U.S.-led war in Iraq.

Descriptions of those conversations by reporters say Wilson discussed Plame's identity, in part, to cast doubt in the reporters' mind about Wilson's account and criticized the CIA, the indictment alleged.

Prosecutors indictment and statement and media advisory

Rove not indicted, still under investigation (Friday, October 28, 2005; Posted: 11:43 a.m. EDT (15:43 GMT) CNN.COM)

Libby is quiet force who helped shape Iraq policy (Friday, October 28, 2005; Posted: 9:04 a.m. EDT (13:04 GMT) CNN.COM)

Cheney aide resigns over CIA leak (BBC)

Will the Bush administration implode? And if it does, will it take us down with it? (By Tom Engelhardt, Salon.COM)

The indictment: Libby lied to investigators and to the grand jury (Salon.COM war room)

Novak's source? Still a mystery (Salon.COM war room)

Libby indicted on charges of lying in Plame case (Salon.COM war room)